Get Ready With Me!

Bear with me folks…this is my first tutorial/get ready with me! This is the type of everyday look I would wear to go to class or run errands during the day.  The final look is not too dramatic for everyday, and really easy to add eye liner and contour to work as a night look.  The eye is also light and neutral enough to go fun with the lips.  Rock that hot pink if you can (my orange hair tends to stop me from doing that…)!

Face Wipes
“Orange You Glad” Detoxifying Wipes

Here we go! I begin with prepping my face for makeup… 
   

Face wipe: I deep clean my face at night with my Clarisonic or a face mask or a face scrub or microdermabrasion…you get the picture.  So in the morning, especially when I’m in a rush before class, I’ll just give my face a wake up with a makeup wipe – I got these at T.J. Maxx.  They always have such a great variety of face wipes, and for great products.  I’ve had some duds, but for the price, you aren’t losing much.

Lip Scrub
Lip Scrub (sugar, olive oil, & peppermint oil)

Lip scrub: Being a dedicated lipstick wearer, I scrub my lips every day.  I’ve tried buying cheap to very expensive scrubs, but I make my own and it works for me – olive oil, sugar, and peppermint oil in this little container I got from the dollar store.  I use the same formula as a body scrub pre-self-tanning!

Lip Balm
C.O. Bigelow My Favorite Night Balm

Lip balm: After scrubbing my lips, i love to put on a thick lip balm while I do the rest of my makeup, to give my lips time to get nice and moisturized before lipstick. I used the C.O. Bigelow My Favorite Night Balm.

Moisturizer
Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturizer

Face moisturizer: I use a face oil and night cream at night after cleaning to make my skin moisturized and happy,  so in the mornings I like to a use a nice and light moisturizer.  I bought this Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturizer in a kit of origins minis from Sephora and it works nicely for me! I’ll probably buy the full size version once this one runs out.

Eye Cream
Soap & Glory Make Yourself Youthful Eye Cream

Eye cream: I have a bit of a complex with my under eyes, so eye cream day and night is a must.  I just got this Soap & Glory Make Yourself Youthful Eye Cream in a recent impromptu Ulta purchase and like it so far! I have found I am allergic to some drugstore eye creams (I had quite the nightmare with an Olay one I otherwise loved), so I’m always hesitant with new products.

Primer Water
Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

Primer: Another impromptu purchase, I have been loving the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water lately.  This is my first experience with face water sprays (other than settings sprays, I’m pretty used to those), but I’ve heard it’s almost identical to Mac Fix +.  I’m looking forward to buying the Mac Fix + and comparing the two.

Now onto my face makeup…

Foundation: I have been using the Too Faced Born This Way Foundation and absolutely love it.  I mixed it with a bit of the Pixi  Flawless Beauty Primer to add some radiance and keep my foundation from looking “too done” on light days.  It also makes one pump of foundation go much further.  I mix one pump of the foundation and a dot of the primer on the back of my hand.

Foundation
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation (Vanilla), Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer, & Morphe S94 Brush

Foundation brush: I have been loving the Morphe S94 Brush for foundation lately.  I dot my foundation mix onto my face with my finger and then blend with the brush.  After blending well, I use the brush to push the foundation into my face in places it usually creases or breaks up.  Specifically, under my eyes, my laugh lines around my mouth, my nose, and chin.

Concealer
Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer (light warm), Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew Anti-Dark-Circle Roller, & Urban Decay Naked Flushed Double-Ended Brush

Concealer: I use my well-loved Urban Decay Naked Naked Skin Concealer and apply it to areas or redness, my undereyes, and anywhere I want to highlight.  Then I take the Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew Anti-Dark-Circle Roller and put it in a triangle shape over my UD concealer under my eyes for extra coverage.

Concealer brush: Lately, I have been using the Urban Decay Naked Flushed Double-Ended Brush, specifically the small stipple brush on one end, for my concealer.  I stipple all the concealer I just placed into my skin and use any excess on the brush around my eye brows.  Stippling, as opposed to blending in circles, makes my concealer last longer and look more natural.  In a rush, I also use my Morphe S94 brush to blend in my concealer.

Setting powder: To set my under eyes and anywhere I applied my concealer, as well as places I tend to get oily through the day, I use the Rimmel London Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder in the color 001 Transparent.  This powder is an unbelievable bargain at $4.99.  I’m repurchased it countless times.  To do this, I use the e.l.f. Blush Brush.

Setting Powder
Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder (Transparent 001), Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder (Ethereal Light), & e.l.f. Blush Brush

Under-eye highlight: To add a bit more highlight and under eye darkness control, I apply the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in “Ethereal Light” with that same brush.  I also add a bit of this on my nose, the center of my forehead, and my chin for a touch of highlight.

Bronzer
Sephora MicroSmooth Baked Bonzer Duo (Honey Heat 01) & Sephora PRO Precision Powder Brush #59
Nose Contour
Sephora MicroSmooth Baked Bonzer Duo (Honey Heat 01) & Morphe S11 Brush

Bronze/contour:  I don’t bother to carve out my face with a good contour when I’m just running errands or going to class.  So i just use the Sephora MicroSmooth Baked Bonzer Duo in “Honey Heat 01”.  This is a two sided bronzer, with one side matte and one side shimmery.  I mix the two and apply it with the Sephora PRO Precision Powder #59 brush on my cheeks, around the edges of my forehead, around my jaw and down my neck, pretty much anywhere I’d get sun if I wasn’t a ginger.

Then I take a Morphe S11 brush and the matte side of the bronzer to lightly contour the sides of my nose.

Blush
Julep Glow Pore Minimizing Blush (Peach Bellini) & Real Techniques Blush Brush

Blush: Blush is simple.  I take the Julep Glow Pore Minimizing Blush in “Peach Bellini” and my Real Techniques Blush Brush and apply the blush to the apples of my cheeks and blend it up into my bronzer.

Brows
NYX Micro Brow Pencil (Auburn), Smashbox Full Exposure Palette, & Anastasia Beverly Hills Tinted Brow Gel (Brunette)

Brows: I have several brow “moods.”  There are days I go all out, and there are days I do the bare minimum…I’ll show you my pretty all out, because when are good brows a bad thing? First, I brush through and groom my brows with a spoolie brush.  Then I take NYX Micro Brow Pencil in the color “Auburn” to make a line under my brows to give them shape and fill in sparse areas with small, short lines. (Side note to my ginger friends: This is the first brow pencil that gave me a natural orange tinte to my brows, instead of the red tint I usually find.  ‘Red Head’ is just a saying folks…My hair isn’t actually red.)  I then take any angled brush and mix together the M2 and M3 shadows from the Smashbox Full Exposure Palette to blend and add more dimension to my brows.  Finally, I’ll apply a touch of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Tinted Brow Gel in the color “Brunette” (ironic) to set my brows and color any hairs that may have been lightened by my foundation.  After one final run through with a spoolie, I’m done!

Highlighter
Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed (Champagne Pop) & Real Techniques Setting Brush

One final highlight: I find that highlighting my face makes all the difference on light makeup days.  It makes me look luminous and glowy…but not greasy.  I use the love of my life, the Becca & Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop and apply it to the top of my cheek bones and around to the above my brows, the center of my nose, my cupid’s bow, the inner corner of eyes, and under my brows using the Real Techniques Setting Brush.

For the Eyes…

Eyeshadow: I’m doing all my eyeshadow today from the it Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Matte Luxe Transforming Eyeshadow Palette.

FullSizeRender-2
it Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Matte Luxe Transforming Eye Shadow Palette & Morphe S27 Brush

First I take a Morphe S27 with mix of “Warmth” and “Love” onto my lids and into the crease and above, but not quite up to the brow, as a base color to make everything else easier to blend.  Then I take the same brush and blend “Soulful” into the outer corner of my eye and into the crease.

FullSizeRender-1
it Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Matte Luxe Transforming Eye Shadow Palette & Morphe S20 Brush

Next I’ll take the Morphe S20 Brush and a bit of “Warmth” onto my lower lash line, from inner to outer corner, then use the same brush with “Soulful” right on top of “Warmth.”

Eye Liner: Then I take my Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in “Demolition” to line my upper lash line & and upper water line, as well as the outer corner of my lower lash line.  I’ll then take my Morphe S20 with a bit of “Soulful” and blend the upper liner on the lash line and up into the outer crease.  I’ll take the same brush with “Soulful” and blend the lower lash line.

Eye Liner
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil (Demolition)

I’ll then do a quick blend with the S27 brush and “Warmth” into my upper crease so the shadows are well blended.

Eyeshadow Highlight
it Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Matte Luxe Transforming Eye Shadow Palette & Small Eye Shadow Brush

I take a mix of  “Sheer Joy” and “Transforming Pear” and “Love” on a small clean brush and apply it on the inner upper lid and inner corner and blend it out with no extra shadow on a S27 brush.

One more blend with no extra shadow on the S27 brush!

Now before I apply my mascara, I spray my face with the Primer Water to set the powders and make everything blend into face better and set.  I lightly stipple with the S94 brush on areas where my foundation tends to crease or smudge ( i.e.: my laugh lines, under my eyes, nose, chin, forehead…) and press the Primer Water into the makeup.

Mascara
Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes Mascara, L’Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara, & Eye Lash Curler

Lashes: First I curl my lashes, then add three coats of alternating mascaras, starting and finishing with L’oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara and in between Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes Mascara (both in black) on my upper lashes.

I try to give my upper lashes a bit to dry, then apply two coats of the L’oreal mascara on my lower lashes, focusing on the outer corner.

I do not participate in witchcraft.  So I am not able to apply mascara without getting a bit of it into my eyeshadow.  I just blend it in (without adding extra shadow) on my S27 and POOF it’s gone!  Wait…Maybe I am a witch.

No, I’m not.  I tried to get my wine to levitate upstairs to me, and it’s still in the kitchen.  False alarm.

Onto my favorite part: lips…

For an everyday look for me (Mind you, this might not be for everyone.  You can always add a bit of gloss or lip balm and call it a day):

Using clean fingers, I’ll wipe off any excess lip balm left.

Lips
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick (Lovecraft), Sephora Ultra Shine Lip Gel (Perfect Nude 04), & Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip (3C)

Then I line my lips with the Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip Liner in 3C.  This is the perfect color for me, it’s almost identical with my lips.  I use it with almost all lipstick colors.

For lipstick, I’m using Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in “Lovecraft.”  I got this mini with my points from Sephora and LOVE it.  The packaging is just so darn adorable! I’m going to need more of these.

To finish, I’m applying Sephora’s Ultra Shine Lip Gel in the color “Perfect Nude 04.”

And that’s it! Looking at all these steps, this seems quite excessive.  But it really only takes me 15-20 minutes!  Everything is really blended and easy to apply quickly.

Here’s the final look!

Final Look

Let me know what you think of this and if I should do posts like this more often.

Maggie xx

Leave a Reply

