Sephora Luster Matte Long-Wear Lip Color

Everyone stop what you’re doing…I found the perfect lipstick.

Okay, maybe not perfect, but WOW.

Anyone who knows me knows when most girls have closets full of shows, I have drawers full of lipsticks.  I have mattes, I have balms, I have sheers.  I have glosses, I have stains…I’ve tried them all!

But I have been on a bit of a search for “my” liquid lipstick.  Liquid lipsticks are everywhere now-a-days.  People rave about their magical staying power,  I just am not crazy about the drying feeling they give me.  I love a matte look, but I can’t stand my lips feeling stiff and uncomfortable all day!

The other day, I found myself in Sephora trying to replace my Gerard Cosmetics “Color Your Smile Lighted Lip Gloss” in Butter Cream.  If you haven’t tried this color…go.  Now.  I’ll wait….

http://www.gerardcosmetics.com/color-your-smile-lighted-lip-gloss.html

Back?  Good.  Butter Cream is the most gorgeous pink-nude lip gloss/lip stick combo.  It was originally created in a collaboration with YouTube beauty expert Jaclyn Hill, but she has recently removed her name from the brand affiliation.  And it is my holy grail color to put over any lipsticks to lighten them up for the day time.  However, I’m impatient.  I cannot wait for shipping time and my friendly Sephora store is closer.  So I ventured in.

I’m sure this happens to everyone, but I went in for one lip gloss and left with four different lip products…only one of which I intended to get! But this is where it gets interesting…

I was in the Sephora Collection part of the store, because I’ve heard good things, but have never tried a lot of them.

I found the gloss I was looking for, so no one worry.  I got the Sephora Ultra Shine Lip Gel in “Perfect Nude 04.”  It’s not as pink as Butter Cream, but it’s a good, non-glittery nude gloss.  I recommend it.  Not too sticky, but come on, it is a gloss people.  Worked nicely over my Gerard Cosmetics lipstick in “1994”, which is the Kylie Jenner brown-nude we all search for.

Here is the look I was trying to re-create, “1994” with “Butter Cream” on top (using the Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip Liner in 3C):

FullSizeRender-2

Here is “1994” with the Sephora “Perfect Nude”:

FullSizeRender-4

The Sephora gloss was much more forgiving.  It didn’t pick up on any dry patches in my lips like “Butter Cream” did.  I’d say it’ll work.  And at $14 versus $24, the price is right.

Next are the Sephora Luster Matte Long-Wear Lip Colors.

“Fig Luster”

FullSizeRender-1

Cranberry Luster”

FullSizeRender-3

“Russet Luster”

FullSizeRender

These were products I found to be so magical!  None of these photos were prefaced with lip liner, only a little bit of lip balm underneath.

Let me know if anyone has any other Sephora brand or non-cult products they have discovered…I’m all ears!

Here are links to all products mentioned…

Gerard Cosmetics: Color Up Your Smile Lighted Lip Gloss in “Butter Cream”

Sephora Luster Matte Long-Wear Lip Color (I bought Russet Luster, Cranberry Luster, and Fig Luster)

Sephora Ultra Shine Lip Gel (I got 04 Perfect Nude)

Maggie xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

