NOT a NARS Addict: My experience with NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

I know, I’ll probably get hate mail for making the title of this post anti-NARS.

It’s not that I don’t like the brand.  It’s not that I hate their products.  In reality, my current favorite red lip color (not formula…too drying for me) is the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Cruella.” And everyone raves about Sheer Glow Foundation.  None of it has just been amazing for me and my skin and my coloring.

However, I just figured I wasn’t giving the brand enough of a chance.

So I walked into my friendly neighborhood Sephora and demanded they change my mind! (Side note: I actually waited patiently until someone color matched me…not much demanding other than in my head.)

I walked out with high hopes and the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in the color “Deauville.”

Let’s be honest, I almost wanted to say this foundation worked just to keep the beautiful bottle on my vanity.  With it’s frosted bottle and black writing and top, it was gorgeous.  Maybe this would be “my” NARS product??

I’m not 100% sure what the NARS people NARS Lightweight Luminouswere thinking when naming this foundation.  Just after reading the name, I had high hopes.  They told me it would not only last all day long, but still feel completely weightless and give off luminosity.  How could I not try it?

And I did…for a good three weeks.  I tried it with a Murad Oil-Control Mattifier Moisturizer, with Benefit POREfessional, with Make Up Forever Mist & Fist, and with Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray.  And then I moved on to the drugstore and tried it with Almay Smart Shade CC Luminous Primer, with NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray, and with Pixi Beauty Flawless Beauty Primer.  Obviously, I also tried it alone.

If you can’t tell, I was willing to try ANYTHING to make this $48 live up to its name and make me a NARS believer.

But it didn’t.

It dried so quickly that I didn’t have time to use a brush or beauty blender.  I’m not crazy about using my fingers, regardless how many times I wash them.  They claimed one pump would give medium to full coverage, but I needed 2-3. It dried a bit matte, which didn’t bother me, but then after two or three hours it broke up around my nose and chin…regardless of the many primers and setting sprays I used.

Overall, it wasn’t all day.  Not even close.  Lightweight, maybe.  It didn’t feel cakey or drying.  Luminous, not really.  Even in the places I didn’t powder, it didn’t “glow” on my skin like others said it would.

So there we have it.  Another NARS bust for me.  Maybe my dream NARS product is out there waiting for me…I’ll just have to keep searching.

Maggie xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

